Burning Down the House

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Burning Down the House.”

Housefire

You are house is burning down, but you have time to save five items, which five items do you choose ..

I think the first item I would grab would be my phone. I like the majority of people fortunate enough to live in a place where we can so easily access technology, rely very much on my phone. I have an iPhone, its with me every single moment of every single day, besides when playing sport etc. It my main method of communication with the world. It is a worrying thought how quickly I react when I feel a weightless pocket, where my phone should be, and how quickly my heart begins to beat in the worry that my phone may be lost. Its sad .. I can admit that.. its more than that.. its kind of pathetic.

Secondly, sticking to the theme of technology, I would grab my MacBook. I often refer to it as “the best thing I have ever Purchased”, which may be a bit dramatic, but its a luxury that i have come to enjoy.

I would also grab my acoustic Guitar. Again, another Luxury, but one of the things that gives me the most joy. Playing music, whether it be to myself or to friends and family, its something I love.

It is likely this next item would already be on my person but if not, I would ensure to take my favourite watch. The watch was a gift from someone very special. Not only is it a cool ass watch, but there is a lot of meaning behind it and its one of the symbols of that relationship.

Lastly I think I would grab my car keys. Mostly because it would allow me to get to my parents or a friends.

All of the things I have picked are replaceable to an extent. You can get a new phone, or Laptop. You can buy a new guitar, maybe even one with a better sound. The next watch I buy will tell the time the same way that my old one had. However, each and every item (maybe except the car keys), has a personal meaning to it.

The phone because there are so many memories stored on it. Pictures and videos from time with friends and family, pictures that may not be recoverable if not on the phone ( I’m not a frequent user of I Cloud). The laptop, because it was the first expensive purchase I made entirely on my own, without any support, and now on a full earning wage. I was something I had always wanted. The guitar because it was my first “Real Guitar”. The first guitar I really made music on, and the first guitar that my family finally believed that our family wasn’t cursed when it comes to musical instruments. The watch speaks for itself.. it has great sentimental value.

There are probably far more efficient or exciting things I could have chosen.. but these are the items that come to mind ..

What would you choose ? …

Blo88er

Leave a Reply

